TV Dinner

With finals quickly approaching, there is nothing more I want to do than sit in bed with a huge dinner of all my favorite foods while watching Gossip Girl on Netflix. Anything like that is way better than studying for finals. It’s my lucky night tonight, because although this menu isn’t my favorite food (sushi) I can still watch Netflix while eating it! On tap for tonight is Chicken Cacciatore Subs and Al Fredo’s Popcorn. Let’s get cooking!

This adventure started yesterday (Sunday) at the grocery store. Trader Joe’s was the last place I wanted to be at 8pm on Sunday. I had a long weekend celebrating Ashley’s 21st and all I wanted was to curl up in bed and sleep for at least 15 hours. But I still dragged my butt to the store. I was expecting the store to be overflowing with people, but I was pleasantly surprised to see that there was absolutely no line! This was one of the most bearable shopping trips of my life — until my Sherri Hill shopping bag broke. RIP to that bag, it had been with me since I moved to New York. I had to carry the bag like a baby the whole way home so it’s contents wouldn’t spill everywhere.

Fast forward to today (Monday). After my first round of classes I stopped by the Food Emporium to pick up my last two ingredients: rolls and diced tomatoes. I wasn’t cooking until my last class was over at 6:30, but I texted Martina to remind her to bring the wine…she said she couldn’t come anymore ): I thought I’d finally be cooking with friends after so long, but I guess not.

I was starving by the time class was over and ran home as quickly as I could to start cooking. I didn’t have much to chop tonight which was a relief and the chicken cooked pretty quickly. All was going well until one of the chicken breasts literally flew over my counter and onto the floor. I just about had a heart attack. Luckily the chicken didn’t get dirty (5-second rule) and I placed it back on the plate to be chopped.

While my veggies cooked I cut the chicken. I didn’t have time to go out and buy more red wine, but I’ve had some sitting in my kitchen since January (I know gross) but I didn’t have any other options so I used that and prayed my food would still turn out okay.

Once the sauce was complete and the chicken was submerged into it, I piled the concoction onto my rolls, topped it with some provolone, and put it under the broiler to melt.

IMG_9053

I decided to clean up a bit while the cheese melted, but I took to long and burned it a bit, but no worries, it was still edible! So here comes the 1st moment of truth for the night. 3…2…1… Just what I needed! This sub was oh so delicious. The combination of my favorite veggies (mushrooms, bell peppers, & onions), and perfectly cooked chicken was stupendous! I made two since I was so hungry and I situated myself on the floor to watch Gossip Girl while I ate.

I was so full from my subs, so I waited until Ashley got home to make the popcorn. I realized last minute that we were out of Parmesan, so I ran over to Duane Reade in my apron to pick some up. The line at Duane Reade was worse than the line at Trader Joe’s, I was there for a while before I finally made it home.

When I finally got home I topped my popcorn with garlic butter & Parmesan, then Ash and I had another moment of truth in front of the TV. 3…2…1…meh. This popcorn was so buttery and cheesy. I’m not much of a cheesy popcorn person — I prefer for my popcorn to be cooked in coconut oil and lightly topped with salt.

IMG_9054

Now time for the ratings. The Chicken Cacciatore Subs receive ♥♥♥♥♥ (5) hearts. My dad always says that the bread makes a sandwich and I couldn’t agree more. This bread held everything inside and never got soggy. The contents were also very flavorful and made for one of the best sandwiches I’ve had in a while. Bravo to these subs. Al Fredo’s Popcorn receives ♥♥ (2) hearts. It doesn’t take much to mess up popcorn, but Al Fredo must’ve been high when he made this recipe. Too much cheese, too buttery, too bleh. No thank you. I only ate it because it was in front of me but Ash and I threw half of it away.

All in all, you know it’s a good night when you can sit on the bed and watch TV while you eat..but let’s be real. When your apartment is the size of a shoe box, the only place there’s room to eat is the bed…so a tv dinner is my dinner every night. Although I try to make it seem like I eat fancily…or at least cook fancily…okay whatever, goodbye ya’ll!

Until next week!

-Mary Honkus

Leave a Reply

