Country Inn Supper

Picture this: You are in a log cabin in a beautiful forest, enjoying everything nature has to offer. You’re away from the city lights and having a nice relaxing weekend with your closest friends. What do you imagine yourself eating/drinking? I hope the answer is soup, cider, and nutty ice cream because that’s what you’re getting! On tonight’s menu we have Beef and Watercress Dumpling “Stoup,” Hot Spiked Cider, and Maple-Walnut Ice Cream Cups. Let’s get cooking!

This adventure starts at Trader Joe’s in Upper Manhattan because I am not in a log cabin in a beautiful forest unfortunately. I headed out to Trader Joe’s around 1:30 on Saturday and I knew from the start that this was not going to be an easy trip. I went to get on the subway…and the station is closed “NO 1 TRAINS AT UPTOWN 50TH STREET STATION THIS WEEKEND” the sign read. What a pain in the butt! I had to take the 1 train downtown to 42nd street then take an uptown express train to 72nd street. Train construction always occurs at the least convenient times.

It took me about 40 minutes to get to the store when it should’ve only taken me 15. This was already set up to be a failure grocery trip. Trader Joe’s was typical…they didn’t have everything I needed, but I was surprised by a few items (like watercress) that they did indeed have! This stop was also super expensive because I had to pick up some nuts and meat — the two items that always make my bank account cry a little.

Next I went to Fairway and found everything I needed pretty quickly. I could not find liquid smoke, but that was an optional ingredient so I said screw it. The last thing I was looking for was a box of biscuit mix. I asked an employee where I could find biscuit mix, and they led me to BISQUICK pancake mix instead…I didn’t feel like searching any longer and picked up the pancake mix…I mean it’s close enough to biscuit mix right?

I came home and after I got some homework done I began to cook. I’m really starting to get used to cooking alone — I can sing as loud as I want with my music and no one will judge me.

I started as I always do with chopping. I wish someone would invent anti-onion goggles that prevented crying. I desperately need a pair of those. The chopping was pretty simple and quick so I moved on to the cooking.

I love the smell of meat cooking, it’s such a glorious smell. Everything I put in the pot smelled delicious so I had high expectations. This recipe called for something I had never heard of/done before — Cook the dumplings by pouring some of the batter into the soup. It was quite odd but I try not to doubt Rachael Ray. I mixed together my pancake mix with the watercress and spooned it into the pot. From then on it was in the EVOO gods’ hands.

While the soup cooked I heated up my apple cider with some cinnamon and cloves. This was supposed to be a spiked apple cider but I couldn’t get my hands on a bottle of apple brandy so this is just hot cider.

Before I knew it the soup was done so I uncovered the lid and what I saw was…not pretty to say the least. This was the UGLIEST food creation ever and I was honestly a little scared to eat it. I unwillingly spooned some into my bowl and poured my apple cider…at this point I was really wishing my cider was spiked.

fullsizerender-26

It was time for the moment of truth. 3…2….1….uhhh okay, not too bad to start out. The meat was pretty tasty, but the dumpling things…I don’t know, the consistency was just off. I tried to eat around most of the dumpling — I’m not even gonna call it a dumpling it was just a weird pancake mass type thing. I mean I ate the whole thing, and it tasted good for the most part but it could’ve been so much better…plus it looked like slop. The cider was good and warmed my cold soul. That was a great winter drink.

fullsizerender-25

After I finished my slop I made my maple walnut sundae, and that dessert did not disappoint. It was crunchy, sweet, and delicious and I could’ve had more.

fullsizerender-27

Now time for the rating. This should be interesting. The Beef and Watercress Dumpling “Stoup” receives ♥♥♥ (3) hearts. This dish really had so much potential! Maybe it was the pancake mix that made it weird, I don’t know, but I was highly disappointed by it. I’m half afraid to eat it the rest of the week…wish me luck. The Hot Spiked Cider receives ♥♥♥ (3) hearts. I liked this, don’t get me wrong, but without the spiked part this cider fell short. Finally the Maple-Walnut Ice Cream Cups receive ♥♥♥♥♥ (5) hearts. This dessert was the light at the end of the tunnel. It was very simple but sometimes simple is the best. I loved it.

I’ve always known I was a big city girl, and this meal just reinforced that. No country bumpkin food for me — I’ll stick to my seamless app and get my sushi from across the street delivered to my door, ahh city living.

Until next week!

-Mary Honkus

Leave a Reply

