Tex-Mex in No Time

Anytime I think of Mexican food I just think of a party going on in my mouth. Seriously though, my love of Mexican food (especially guacamole) has grown exponentially since moving to Hell’s Kitchen this past summer. Most likely because there’s about four Mexican restaurants every block…but there’s something about homemade Mexican that beats out all the restaurants. I’m ready for a fiesta tonight with My Sister Ria’s Favorite Fajitas. Let’s get cooking!

I started my day at Trader Joe’s this morning at 10:30. I actually look forward to going grocery shopping at this time. I never thought I’d say this, but Trader Joe’s on Wednesday morning is my happy place. I swear every time I go it just becomes more and more peaceful there. I think what made me the happiest about Trader Joe’s today was that I could buy just one bottle of beer for this recipe instead of buying a whole pack — talk about a money saver!

I still had to run to Fairway for 4 more ingredients: oregano, poblano chilies, a spanish onion and Tabasco sauce. This Fairway trip was probably the quickest and cheapest ever, so all around today was a great shopping day even though it was pouring outside.

Many of my friend’s are big Mexican fans, so I was expecting a larger crowd tonight, but as the day went on they all dropped like flies. I understand though, with the end of the semester coming up it’s crunch time on school work. Luckily, Ashley was able to come home at a decent hour and cook with me tonight!

I was originally going to wait for her to get home, but I was absolutely starving so I started to mix together the marinade. I could tell this marinade was going to be hot as hell from all of the spices I was putting in. I wasn’t able to finish making it though because I couldn’t open the bottle of beer. Ashley has the only bottle opener in this apartment on her key chain…and she was still at school. Defeated,and hungry, I laid down on the couch until she arrived home at 9:30.

Finally when Ashley arrived home we started cooking. The first thing I did was finish the marinade and let the steak soak in it while we chopped. We sauteed the vegetables, and charred the steak. Everything was going off without a hitch…until after I cut the steak and put it back on the stove to cook a bit more.

While I was cutting the steak, I asked Ashley to preheat the pans again. Well, as soon as I dumped the steak into a pan flames rose about two feet into the air charring our microwave. We both screamed so loud! This was the kind of thing film crews capture on professional cooking shows…we were completely shocked. Luckily the fire went away within seconds but it could’ve gotten ugly.

Once the steak was finished cooking, Ashley heated up the tortillas and we stuffed them full. Finally, after hours of being hungry it was time for the moment of truth.

3…2…1… Not what I was expecting…and not in a good way. Everything was pretty flavorless. The steak was very surprisingly not spicy at all, and the vegetables were extremely bland. These fajitas were very disappointing.

So, My Sister Ria’s Favorite Fajitas receives ♥♥♥ (3) hearts. This was probably one of the biggest letdown meals ever. Both Ashley and I were surprised at how tasteless everything was. Adding even just a little bit of seasoning to the vegetables would’ve made a huge difference. Such a second-rate meal.

Well, I don’t know how these could be Ria’s favorite fajitas, unless Ria is a very dull person, then these would’ve been perfect for her. Hopefully Rachael Ray’s next Mexican meal will create a fiesta in my mouth instead of a snooze fest.

Until next week!

-Mary Honkus

Leave a Reply

