Thanksgiving for Everyday

Fall. What are some of the things that come to mind with the word fall? Changing leaves, pumpkin spice, and Halloween are a few, but I think the epitome of fall is Thanksgiving. As the weather grows colder and the leaves finally fall, people gather together to celebrate the most wonderful thing on this earth: food. Now, although Halloween hasn’t passed yet, we are having a mini thanksgiving feast tonight! This week’s menu includes Herb Smashed Potatoes with Goat Cheese, Turkey and Wild Mushroom Meat Loaf Patties with Pan Gravy, and Green Beans with Lemon and Toasted Almonds. Let’s get cooking!

Since many of my friends and I were swamped with homework on Sunday, we decided to cook on Wednesday (today). My day started out with a trip to Trader Joe’s. I was expecting a nice relaxed visit to the grocery store since it was mid-week and in the middle of the afternoon….but I was very wrong. It seemed like every nanny/parent on the Upper West Side decided to bring their kids with them to the store today, and the kids were not very happy.

I overheard one kid arguing with his mother: “You better give me my money back mom. it’s my money!!”

“No, Tommy, it’s not your money. I know you stole it from me.”

“NO MOM. I didn’t steal it, it’s mine! I may have stolen it back out of revenge on you but it’s mine!

….I’m never bringing my kids to the grocery store in the future.

It was ALMOST a successful visit to Trader Joe’s except they didn’t have bread crumbs. What kind of grocery store doesn’t have bread crumbs?! So strange. Anyways, I made a quick pit stop to Fairway then headed home.

I had to run to the kitchen supplies store in the Chelsea Market today as well because I needed a potato masher, and a peeler for tonight. I usually love going to the Chelsea Market, but today it was overrun with tourists blocking the way. Nothing gets me angrier than people standing idle where I am trying to walk. Not gonna lie, I pushed some people out of the way. No regrets.

I picked up my tools, plus a mixing bowl because everyone needs a mixing bowl and just laid low until everyone came over.

Well, everyone was supposed to come over at 6 but ended up being an hour late (still love you Saoirse and Jenny). Ashley and I started the prep work by chopping everything before they even arrived.

This cooking adventure was a bit chaotic because everything was centered around the stove. At one point I think that all 4 burners were going. Also, the meatloaf patty recipe was too confusing so I ended up just making a bunch of turkey burgers…Oh well, still tasted the same.

Everything was relatively easy to make and before long it was already time for the moment of truth. 3..2..1 yum yum yum I was very impressed! The turkey burger/patty concoction was so delicious, I think it was the mushrooms…or the gravy..or both! When I was younger I had a weird fear of gravy, and I’m just now realizing what I was missing out on. It brings so much more flavor to the meat, and it made this burger completely irresistible. The mashed potatoes were unbelievable too, I think what made it so good was the goat cheese. I just couldn’t get enough. Finally, I was surprised with the green beans. I really don’t like green beans, but tossed in lemon butter they weren’t half bad.

To finish off the night we strolled down to Schmackery’s for some delicious cookies (:

Now for the rating! Herb Smashed Potatoes with Goat Cheese receives ♥♥♥♥ (4) hearts. I feel like anything carby or starchy will be rated high with me, but I never expected goat cheese to take this dish out of this world. I loved it, I will definitely have to make this again. The Turkey and Wild Mushroom Meat Loaf Patties with Pan Gravy receives ♥♥♥♥♥ (5) hearts. This blew me away, and I think it came down to the gravy. Meatloaf has always freaked me out too, but now I actually want to try a meatloaf because of this. All the flavors were great and it melted in my mouth. So delicious! Now the Green Beans with Lemon and Toasted Almonds receives ♥♥♥ (3) hearts. I don’t like green beans at all but this dish made them bearable.

Thanks to this week I feel like I now have some tricks up my sleeve for friendsgiving in a few weeks….It also got me excited for real Thanksgiving and going to see my family. I miss eating with them…and my cat. That is all.

Until next week!

-Mary Honkus

 

Leave a Reply

