Peasant Bread Surprise

Chicken pot pie — something I have never eaten. I honestly had no idea what it was so I had to look it up. The definition of chicken pot pie from dictionary.com is “a deep-dish pie containing meat, chicken, or the like, often combined with vegetables and topped with a pastry crust.” I don’t know, if a pie is not a dessert pie it kinda freaks me out. I honestly have no idea what to expect with this weeks recipe: Chicken Not-Pot-Pie…is it a pie or is it not? Guess it’s time to find out.

As with every other cooking adventure, this one starts with a trip to the grocery store. I was babysitting a dog this weekend, and right before I went to Trader Joe’s, her owners picked her up and that equaled $$$$ for me, which equaled evoo $$$$ for this week. CHA-CHING!

Trader Joe’s was the busiest I had ever seen it, yet I was only able to find one ingredient: chicken. I waited in a 20 minute checkout line for just chicken. Needless to say I was a bit annoyed, but I bit my tongue and headed over to Fairway. I had a feeling I would be able to find everything in Fairway and I was right! I think I was most excited about the huge round loaf of bread I picked up because bread is life. Once I checked out I headed home.

About 20 minutes before everyone was supposed to come, Morgan texted me saying she couldn’t make it and she was supposed to bring an ingredient ): I ran out to Food Emporium in the rain to pick up artichoke hearts and rosemary. Shortly after Mel came over and Ashley got home and we started cooking.

This recipe was fairly simple. Mel chopped while I cooked the chicken. We were able to have a little snack while cooking because the recipe called to scoop out the insides of the bread. It was some sort of champagne bread, and we could all taste the champagne…so yummy. We even got a little fancy and dipped it in olive oil and vinegar.

The chicken was really smokey and managed to set the smoke alarm off twice. Our kitchen was covered in a thick smog, but we worked through it.

The fun part came when the chicken was done cooking. We stuffed the hollowed out bread with EVERYTHING. Chicken, artichokes, roasted red bell peppers, onions, tomatoes, provolone, peppers, and spinach all smooshed into this loaf of bread. We put the lid on it and stared in amazement for a while, not believing we were able to fit everything inside.

We transferred the loaf to a cutting board and cut it into wedges. I have never seen a more beautiful sight. It was a monstrous sandwich which reminded me of a hoagie from when I was a kid. It smelled even better than it looked.

Mel and I were so excited for the moment of truth. 3..2..1.. A bite of all things good in this world. Taking a bite of this sandwich made me wish I could go back in time and not be so picky about what was on my hoagies (just ham and lettuce) I wish I could’ve experienced this goodness sooner. All of the flavors meshed amazingly producing a mosh-posh sandwich of deliciousness. I’m not one for artichokes but they were perfect in this. I couldn’t pick out any ingredient’s flavors individually; all the ingredients became one. I scarfed down this sandwich, yes it was messy and bigger than my head but so worth it. I contemplated taking another wedge, but was sure I would literally explode if I did, plus Mel was making sugar cookies.

Now time for rating. Without a doubt Chicken Not-Pot-Pie receives ♥♥♥♥♥ (5) hearts. There wasn’t a bad thing about this thing. I don’t know what to call it because it definitely was not a pie…but I guess the name fits. Anyways, I’m so glad I have lunch for the next 2 days because half of the loaf is still leftover. I sign off tonight with a very happy food baby, the happiest one I have ever had.

Until next week

-Mary Honkus

PS in the photo the sandwich kinda fell apart but it’s still beautiful.

Leave a Reply

