Healthy Hunger Buster

I have been waiting for the day for an evoo recipe to feature fish, and that day has finally come! If you know me, you know that I cannot live without fish. Sushi is my FAVORITE food, and every time I go to a restaurant I always order some sort of seafood. Now, although this is not sushi, *sigh* it’s still good enough! On tonight’s menu is Swordfish Steaks with Mango Salsa and Curry Couscous. My taste buds are already excited thinking about it, so lets get cooking!

I was in Pennsylvania for this past week, so when I returned home to New York on Tuesday (yesterday) I had to make a trip to Trader Joe’s; not just for cooking, but also because I had absolutely no food whatsoever. I was expecting this trip to be easy, which it was, but some people must’ve had bad days because as I tried to politely weave my way through the line to reach some food I received the nastiest glares. Like, damn, I didn’t realize that trying to get the food I needed was such a crime. At least I was able to find everything, besides the red bell pepper because they ran out…of course.

Fast forward to today, Wednesday. There was one last very important ingredient I had to pick up: the swordfish. I think the main reason I was so excited for this recipe was because there is a fresh seafood market in the Chelsea Market, and I have always wanted to get my fresh fish from there for evoo. My heart was happy going there, but my wallet was not. I spent freaking $54 on 2 lbs of swordfish!!! WHY DID IT HAVE TO BE SO EXPENSIVE? I bit my tongue as I paid for it. This better be some magically delicious swordfish. Although, I can’t help but think it is better to have more expensive good quality fish than cheap-o fish that will cause food posoining.

Mel, Kait, & Morgan came over at 7:30. They actually arrived before me because I was coming from a dog walk on the upper east side. Mel was cooking her dinner because she doesn’t like fish, so Morgan, Ashley & I got cooking. We chopped like usual, and I tried to get Kait to cut the bell pepper, but she was too busy texting her boo. She even asked me to teach her how to cook and now won’t….I donut understand!! (Still love you Kait.)

This recipe was particularly easy. Mainly all we had to do was chop stuff up, let the couscous sit, and cook the fish which didn’t take long at all. It was pretty funny actually because Morgan and I were the only ones who planned on eating any of it since the others don’t like seafood…oh well, more for us!

The time came quickly for the moment of truth. 3..2..1. Oh, so delicious! After a long day of walking dogs (I walked 13 miles) this was fireworks of joy in my mouth. Not only was the swordfish cooked to perfection, but the mango salsa on top packed the perfect sweet flavor. The couscous was also delicious, even though I forgot two of the ingredients…oops. Who would’ve thought orange chunks would be great with couscous? Maybe its just because I love fruit, but everything with the fruit was fantastic. Morgan loved it all too. It also was comforting knowing that everything we ate was also good for us. A total win win!

Now comes everyone’s favorite part: rating our food. The Swordfish Steaks receive ♥♥♥♥ (4) hearts. Yes, they were mouth watering delicious, but still, the $54 I spent on them is still haunting me. The Mango Salsa receives ♥♥♥♥ (4) hearts. The swordfish and the salsa together was a match made in heaven. All of the flavors complimented each other perfectly, but Morgan kept saying how the mango wasn’t ripe enough. I couldn’t tell but hey whatever, still delicious. The Curry Couscous receives ♥♥♥♥ (4) hearts as well. I think it was just knowing it was all good for me. There’s nothing better than knowing that what you’re eating is actually nourishing your body. I must say, bravo Rachael Ray, although I hope the next seafood recipe is a fish that isn’t as expensive.

Until next week!

-Mary Honkus

Leave a Reply

