Vegetarian Stir-Fry

On many nights I find myself craving Chinese food…mostly because it is quick and cheap. Honestly, though, I haven’t ordered Chinese in a while because I have strong will-power. Just kidding, I don’t have strong will-power I just end up ordering sushi… Anyways, that’s besides the point. The point is our recipe tonight is Veggie Lo Mein. Finally a traditional Chinese dish I can make at home. I’m praying that this will be good so I will stop wasting money on takeout.

As with all of my cooking adventures, this one starts out with my trip to the grocery store. Lyss and I’s long trip to Trader Joe’s last week was a painful one. Luckily we just found out that there’s a Trader Joe’s so much closer to us on 72nd street! We still had to subway there, but I could already tell that this trip would be so much easier.

With every new grocery store comes a new challenge: trying to figure out where everything is. The layout of this Trader Joe’s definitely wasn’t as nice as the other, and it was kind of confusing, but it was cheap so I can’t complain too much. In total I spent only $35 not only on ingredients, but just regular grocery shopping for the week. This is the sole reason why I love Trader Joe’s.

We headed home on the subway and barely broke a sweat. All in all great shopping trip. There was only one item, Tamari, that we couldn’t find, so Mel picked it up on her way over.

When Mel arrived we started cooking! Lyss is a master at making pasta, something that I have not mastered, so she was in charge of the pasta. While the it cooked, we each had something to chop. Mel was on pepper duty, Lyss was on garlic duty, Ashley was on scallion duty, and I also helped with garlic.

Side note…so happy Ashley was actually home to cook, and that she was actually able to eat this meal since it is vegetarian!

Anyway, once everything was chopped and the noodles were done we threw everything together and voila! This 30-minute meal was actually 30 minutes!! This was a first, and all of us were super pumped because we were all starved.

Mel scooped out generous portions for each of us and this time we had a real countdown.

3..2..1.. I feel like every week I say WOW, but this week beats out all other weeks. This is the wow of all wows. This lo mein was AMAZING. And I wasn’t the only one to think so. Ashley kept repeating “this is so good. this is so good” and the hum of everyone “mmmmming” echoed until every last bit was gone. Simply a fabulous meal.

For dessert we had some delicious store bought macarons from the one and only Trader Joe’s .

Now time for the rating…..Can you guess what Veggie Lo Mein receives??? If you guessed ♥♥♥♥♥ (5) hearts you’re right! But in my heart this recipe broke my scale. Now when I’m craving Chinese food at 2 in the morning I can make it myself. I’ll definitely be making this dish again this week because we still have all of the ingredients left. I would like to thank Chinese people for making Chinese food, and I would like to thank Rachael Ray for making this recipe. I sound like I’m saying a speech for a cooking award…Just practicing for my future award one day…

Until next week!

-Mary Honkus

Leave a Reply

