Sicilian Eggplant Marinara over Penne

Happy Cinco de Mayo!! After all the Mexican recipes we’ve cooked, of course we end up with an Italian one on a Mexican holiday. Sicilian Eggplant Marinara over Penne is about as far as you can get from tacos, (which I really wanted today), but hey, I won’t complain. Time to get cooking.

We decided to cook on a Thursday this week because Nicolette went to the Bieber concert on Wednesday, and I just couldn’t cook without her. So, on Wednesday, River came with me to Whole Foods to do my grocery shopping. I was not going back to Trader Joe’s because I knew it would have been so awkward if I had seen the cashier that asked for my number. I could just picture it…”Why didn’t you text me back?” “……no habla ingles….” let’s just say it would’ve ended badly. I barely had any ingredients to pick up this week, so this trip was fast and easy. River even carried my bags home for me. What a gentleman.

Flash forward to today (Thursday). Nicolette came over after class and we started our work, like usual. This recipe didn’t require much effort. The eggplant had to roast in the oven for 20 minutes, so while it was cooking I minced the garlic. Once the eggplant was done, it was time to perform surgery. The skin had to be peeled off the eggplant. Rachael Ray stated in the recipe that the skin would pull away easily, and it did at first, but the longer it took the more impatient we got. It really felt like we were doctors in the OR….such a weird feeling lol.

Once the eggplant was skinned, we threw it in my ratchet little food processor. I honestly didn’t think my food processor would be able to chop up the eggplant, but it trucked through and made a lovely paste. I need to put more faith into that little machine.

All there was left to do was make the sauce, which took about 5 minutes, and throw the pasta in. Voila! All ready to eat. We spooned large helpings of pasta into our bowls and topped it off with parmigiano reggiano cheese.

Now for the moment of truth…. 3…2…1… Alright, just alright. We already didn’t have high hopes for this dish because of all the other amazing pasta dishes we’ve had so far. The more we ate of it, the better it got, though. Can’t complain, but it could be better.

Onto rating…this one was simple. Sicilian Eggplant Marinara over Penne receives ♥♥♥  (3) hearts because like I explained above it was just meh. Eggplant is such a weird vegetable, I’m not exactly sure how I feel about it either. I hope I won’t get grossed out by this pasta as the week goes on. I guess we’ll see!

Until next week!

-Mary Honkus

Leave a Reply

