Satisfaction Guaranteed

Pasta, pasta, pasta! As I have stated in the past Rachael Ray has really made me fall in love with pasta. This weeks recipe included a picture, which makes me so happy…especially when the picture looks delicious; it gives you that feeling where you know that what you’re about to make is going to rock your socks off. This pasta dish is carbonara….let me rephrase that. The actual name of the recipe is: The Only Recipe You Need: Carbonara. Nicolette just about shit herself when she found out we were making carbonara because she LOVES it. This week also came with dessert: Sugared Stone Fruits with Cookies and Cream. Time to find out if this carbonara recipe really is the only recipe I need.

This week has been one of the busiest weeks of the semester by far. I’ve had countless papers and assignments due, so I was pretty happy when I saw that my grocery list was extremely small this week. In between classes and apartment shopping I decided to change things up and go to Whole Foods first. I was surprised that I wasn’t able to find everything on my list, and I didn’t have the time to go to another grocery store before cooking, so I asked Nicolette to pick up the last few ingredients. Thank God for her, she is a lifesaver.

So, today at 6:30 we got cooking. We were preparing to boil water, when a glass shattered out of nowhere. We were pretty confused, but quickly cleaned it up. We decided to get the dessert ready first. The recipe called for peaches, apricots, and plums, but we weren’t able to find apricots at the store so we just used peaches and plums. The peaches were kind of funky looking, not gonna lie, but we just played it off and hoped for the best. Once we sliced the fruit, we sprinkled it with sugar and let it in the fridge to chill.

Onto the main course. I know I say this a lot, but honestly this was the all time EASIEST (and quickest) recipe to make. Garlic, pancetta, evoo, wine, and done. mixed the sauce (if you could call that a sauce) with the pasta and voila! Bon appétit.

I can’t believe I’m saying this, but it’s already time for the moment of truth. 3..2..1..very good, very good. This pasta was flavorful and had a certain spicy kick to it, which is a staple in all of Rachael Ray’s recipes. We pretty much inhaled our pasta; it was gone in a flash.

We took out our chilled fruit, added some heavy cream, and crumbled some sugar cookies over top. It looked extremely unappetizing (as you can see by the picture) but wasn’t too shabby.The peaches in the dessert were meh, but the plums were good. It definitely was not your traditional dessert, but it was a nice cherry on top of dinner.

As for rating the food…ugh always so difficult. The Only Recipe You Need: Carbonara receives ♥♥♥♥ (4) hearts. Delicious, but not the only recipe I need. I’d get sick of this pretty quickly if it was the only recipe I had. As for the Sugared Stone Fruits with Cookies and Cream, that receives ♥♥ (2) hearts. It probably would’ve been better if the fruit was actually in season. I can see it being a very good summer dessert.

Sorry about the short post this week, it appears these recipes were very uneventful. I’m hoping for more excitement next time. I hope you all are becoming inspired to cook! Thanks for reading, xoxo

Until Next Week!

-Mary Honkus

Leave a Reply

