Creole Chicken Breasts with Crab and Artichoke Stuffing

Creole chicken breasts with crab and artichoke stuffing is a recipe I’ve been looking forward to for the longest time. Anything with chicken sounds appetizing, but add seafood to the mix…mmmm high expectations for this dish.

I started out today’s adventure by heading down to the Chelsea Market for some kitchen supplies. For my readers who don’t know what the Chelsea Market is, it is an old warehouse transformed into a mini mall and restaurant haven. The shops and restaurants are so cute and unique. It’s definitely a must-see if you’re ever in New York.

When we arrived at the Chelsea Market it was 4:40 PM. There was a sign on the door saying it was closing early at 5 PM today. It was a race against the clock to find and purchase all of my supplies in time. I hurried to Bowery Kitchen Supplies…or tried to hurry. Even though the market was closing in 20 minutes, it was 10x more crowded than usual. Luckily I made it, and was able to find everything in 10 minutes…that’s a new record time for how quickly I finished my shopping EVER.

Next was the food shopping. I only had to pick up 6 items so I didn’t think it would take long. Off to grocery store number 1: Trader Joe’s.

I really have a love/hate relationship with Trader Joe’s. Yeah, everything is cheap, but they never have all of the ingredients I need. I was only able to pick up two ingredients on this trip…and they were fully stocked. No Snowpocalypse to blame this time. I also had to wait in a line that wrapped the whole way around the store for these two lone items. Trader Joe’s you need to get your shit together.

I’m starting to like Fairway more and more, because guess what…THEY HAD ALL THE INGREDIENTS I NEEDED!! Glad no time was wasted at another grocery store.

Adrian and Nicolette came over to cook with me today. First we had to pound the chicken thin. One of the items I bought at the kitchen supply store was a mallet. I wanted a small one but the smallest one they had still reminded me of the mallets barbarians used thousands of years ago. I figured Adrian would like to play with the mallet and I was right. He pounded the chicken so hard it almost fell apart…too much man power Adrian, too much. After the chicken was pounded, we all chopped everything and started to sauté the veggies. It came time to add the artichoke hearts….but we forgot to chop them up so we quickly chopped them and threw them in. Close call with that. We really were not on our A-game tonight because we also completely forgot to throw in the Old Bay seasoning. Oops.

The stuffing finished cooking and we rolled it into the chicken, which was a challenge since Adrian mutilated the chicken breasts. Word of advice: never let a boy pound the chicken thin. There was so much stuffing left over that we just began eating it and WOW. The stuffing by itself was delicious, we could not wait to try the finished meal.

We cooked the chicken in sherry (I know, we’re such fancy college students) and then it was ready to serve.

3…2…1 DELISH. The chicken was quite enjoyable, and with this many leftovers I’ll be eating good for the next week and a half. We all agreed that this recipe deserved only ♥♥♥ (3) hearts, though. Was it good? Yes. Would I make it again? No. What am I saying? I never make any of these recipes again hahaha. But, I think it would’ve been better if we didn’t cheat and taste the stuffing before the whole dish was done. I’ll eat that stuffing by itself any day though, that deserved 5 hearts. Moral of this recipe: Don’t taste the dish until it’s complete.

Until next week!

-Mary Honkus

Leave a Reply

